When Good Diagnoses Go Bad

Sometimes when I’m desperate that people know “I used to be skinny, I swear” I’ll often jump right into telling them how when I got my bipolar diagnosis they threw a bunch of drugs at me that made me gain a lot of weight very quickly. Also I started using a steroidal nasal spray (that no one told me not to use every day for 2 1/2 years) around the same time.

My appetite soared, I got more busy with my professional life, I got married and moved out, and suddenly I’m 60-70 (ish? timelines are hard) pounds heaver than I’ve ever been.

Even my fingers got fat. I look at my hands and I have slobby fat person hands. 10% of my clothes still fit, and I’m constantly wondering just how my thighs compare to all the other thighs. Who has the bigger thighs? Life’s biggest question. (I do. Easy answer.)

Now I’m looking at old selfies I had taken back at the weights I wish I still was wondering how the fuck I didn’t just enjoy it (because eating disorders), and I’m realizing that this recovered/fat me just isn’t sustainable.

I don’t know how I’m going to do it, and I’m going to do my best to not fall back into the super-disordered behaviors, but I’m so full of self hatred I could scream. Bipolar made me fat.

Also my school life is shit and work life is hard and personal life is 50/50 shit/hard and I just. And I just.

LESS THAN A WEEK UNTIL MY BIRTHDAY and I don’t feel festive at all. Goddamn life circumstances.

3 thoughts on “When Good Diagnoses Go Bad

  1. Destiny here. I went from running around a campus all day to an office job, and it caused me to gain a bunch of weight, too. Not to mention going on antidepressants. But weight doesn’t make you who you are. You’re you and you’re great and if you want to be healthier, that’s fine, too, but you’re super hard on yourself and you’ve got to remember that all those cliches about the inside mattering more than the outside are overused because they’re very true.

  2. Hang on there. Shit like ballooning happens to me every time i get married. You are not alone and you are badass for sharing!
    ☆ヾ(*´・∀・)ノヾ(・∀・`*)ノ☆

Leave a Reply

