Deep Sleep? Psh, Who Needs It?

Is there a disease where you have nightmares all the time? I could Google it, but I don’t feel like it. Maybe the bad dreams are because of the anxiety.

Regardless, it’s mighty inconvenient.

Apparently, of the 7-8 hours I spend in bed each night (from lights off/sleepy time until when my alarm goes off), I only sleep between 4 1/2-6 of those hours spent trying to sleep.

My expensive wristband has alerted me to this fact. I knew I woke up terrified and sweaty occasionally, but now I see I’ll wake up up to 20 times in a single night. Often, these wakeful periods last up to 10 minutes at a time.

And, as we all know, this seriously messes with my accumulation of deep sleep. Deep sleep is essential for my brain to brain, among other things. With only averaging 1 1/2 hours of this deep sleep per night, it’s no wonder I can hardly hold a conversation.

Maybe the Deep Sleep Dilemma is also the hidden culprit of my appetite issues, also.

Hooray! I think I’ve solved one of the mysteries of my own life. Now, how do I go about fixing this? I have no idea. Ideally, my anxiety would lessen, my hours would shorten, and my eating and exercising habits would be optimal for a healthy lifestyle. However, these are basically impossible in my current world. Thanks, college.

Apparently, I’ll just have to make do. I wonder how long it’ll last because I totally disintegrate mentally and/or physically.

Leave a Reply

