Thinking

It’s been a while since I’ve typed a new post. The last couple of weeks I’ve been relying on drafts and scheduled posts to appear on here, but now I’ve run out and am honestly having a difficult time coming up with anything to say. There has been a lot going on over here. Things like family, school, and moving around leave me too exhausted at the end of the day to do anything but read and sleep.

Luckily, I like to talk about books. The book I read most recently was Terry Goodkind’s The Law of Nines. Now, I thought this book was going to be a totally different world and story than Goodkind’s epic Sword of Truth series, but I was pleasantly surprised to learn that it wasn’t. There might be some spoilers… beware.

It starts off different then the rest of Goodkind’s work in that it’s placed in present time and universe instead of an “older” based magical time. It’s also set in Nebraska (yay! Mr. Terry is from Omaha, so I like to believe he was writing about places I know) where there are cars and TVs and things. Then suddenly there’s this majestic lady who seems to appear out of thin air. Then you learn that the main character, Alex, is uncomfortably like Richard from The Sword of Truth. They hate riddles, run their fingers through their hair, and even share a last name. I was worried for half a second that he was recycling character traits and that he just liked the descriptions so much that he borrowed them for something totally different.

Nope. It’s very interesting how the rest of the book played out! I’m not going to go through a lot more, because the concept of parallel worlds gets me confused.

When I was little I used to pretend my parallel world self could see me in mirrors of all kinds. Windows, water, metal surfaces, and anything reflective I would basically show off for other world Shley and show her how good I was at cleaning or doing homework or cooking or whatever. It kept me on top of my game in some ways. I thought the parallel world me cared about who I was, but for some reason I never showed interest in her world. Part of me thought that the parallel worlds were the exact same thing. That each and every person had a clone, and every place was duplicated, and everyone did the same things at the same time in both worlds. But what would be point?

Later I thought maybe it was in case the universe made a mistake. Like, if some cataclysmic Doctor Who-like event happened, the universe had a spare world to continue on with. Even later I started to expand and wonder if there were parallel worlds that were different, or if there were other worlds at all…

I gave The Law of Nines a 4/5 star rating on Goodreads, and recommend it to anyone who’s already read the entirety of the Sword of Truth series. It matters. I can imagine it’d be confusing to understand the parallel references at all without knowing what happened in a lot of those other books.

Happy Thursday.

Leave a Reply

