Now that that’s out of the way…

Let’s talk about tipping for a little bit. I don’t want to make this too lengthy, mostly because I trust most of you are pretty good about paying servers what they deserve, and partly because I’m technically not supposed to talk about it. I’m not going to complain about the company I work for, or the people who visit it.

I’ve found that most people are very reasonable, and honestly I don’t have any problem making money most days that I work. Just sometimes it seems people don’t tip very well for no reason at all. When are we taught how tip? I think some people miss this lesson growing up. Some days it just seems unfair that I work my bum off for people, (who may not realize how difficult the job is) and then I don’t get paid fairly for the work. It can just be so frustrating. Frustrating enough that some days I find myself crying in the freezer (just saying).

The company I work for is cooperative in that if you make less than minimum wage in tips, they will adjust your paycheck so that you get that minimum wage at least. That’s a good fallback, however, I definitely feel the work we do is worth more than $7.75 or whatever it is. Googling is hard.

Unfortunately I don’t remember the restaurant, but one time I went to a place where the receipt had tips for tipping! It had the usual tip, total, and signature lines, but at the very bottom it had something that looked like:

15% = $3.75

18% = $4.50

20% = $5.00

Please tip your server!

This seemed like a great idea to me! It may have had something about the difference between lunch and dinner tips, but I don’t recall exactly. I wish every restaurant would do that for the sake of its servers. Maybe some people just don’t know that they’re not tipping enough. Sometimes they can be a little difficult to please, too. That affects tips because believe it or not, you’re not the only person we’re serving…

Again, I’m not trying to complain, just I find it an interesting topic, and it’s brought up so often at work and with my friends that I thought I’d mention it here.

Please tip your server.

Leave a Reply

